Tuesday, August 26, 2008

P44 - your call

To the people of Permatang Pauh,

The fork in the road.  Will you take the familiar one with known disappointments or the one less travelled to unknown, untested and undiscovered frontiers?

The nation's future is in your hands.  Today you create history.  The choice is yours. 


  1. 2216: Anwar has bagged around 22,000 votes so far to the BN’s 10,000

  2. 2216: Anwar has bagged around 32,000 votes so far to Ariff’s 14,000 - an 18,000 majority. Anwar is on track towards a 20,000 majority!

  3. 9.13pm : Din Merican reporting from the counting centre

    Final unofficial ( whatever that means ) figures

    Votes in favour of Anwar -31,579

    Votes for Arif - 16,045

  4. Did you vote? Looks like your dream came true. ^_^

  5. EC announces Anwar as winner

    BUKIT MERTAJAM: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has won the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat with a majority of 15,671 votes.

    The victory marks a return to Parliament for the PKR advisor after an absence of 13 years.

    The Election Commission announced that Anwar polled 31,195 votes while his Barisan Nasional opponent, Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah received 15,524.

    Hanafi Hamat of Angkatan Keadilan Insan Malaysia (Akim), who contested as an independent lost his deposit, polling only 92 votes.

    Anwar last won the Permatang Pauh seat in 1995 with a majority of 23,515 votes.

    The by-election was held after his wife Datuk Seri Wan Azizah Wan Ismail quit as Permatang Pauh MP on July 31. She had won with a majority of 13,388 votes in the March 8 general election.

    With his victory, Anwar will take over as the Parliamentary Opposition Leader.

  6. I'm not in P44. I voted in Sungai Petani on 08-03-08

  7. and..the rest is history :) a big leap for democracy